First Offender Minimum Penalties For DUI Conviction
Referenced below is a list of possible sanctions the Court can impose upon conviction of a
first offense for DUI. Whether any or all of the below may be imposed by the Court will
depend on the facts of your case and the county of your arrest.
- Mandatory conviction for Driving Under the Influence (misdemeanor offense).
- One year supervised probation.
- Must meet with an assigned probation officer at least once a month.
- Must pay the monthly fee for probation officer supervision (normally about $50.00 a month).
- $500.00 fine plus additional court costs.
- Should the breath alcohol test results be greater than .15 the minimum fine is $1000.00.
- Should there be a person under the age of 18 in the vehicle at the time of the offense the minimum fine is $1000.00.
- $50.00 cost of prosecution.
- Driver must attend Alcohol Safety Education Course.
- Cost of Alcohol Safety Education Course is $225.00.
- The Alcohol Safety Education Course requires at least 12 hours of class time.
- In addition to the above, there may be additional counseling ordered for twelve weeks (one hour a week at about $20.00 weekly fee).
- Driver must attend a Victim Impact Panel.
- Six months suspension of driver's license from the date of conviction.
- Once the Alchol Safety Education Course is completed the driver may be eligible for a Hardship License.
- Ten day impoundment of vehicle.
- The driver may not possess or consume alcohol or drugs with potential random screenings in most counties in Florida.
- A substance abuse evaluation and completion of recommended treatment will be required in most counties in Florida.
We represent clients for DUI and Drunk Driving charges in the following counties:
- Alachua County
- Bradford County
- Clay County
- Columbia County
- Gilchrist County
- Levy County
- Marion County
- Putnam County
- Union County